Label Reading Quiz

  • Article
9

Label Reading Quiz

You can’t find any ingredient on the label that would have gluten in it, but it does say natural flavors. Is it safe?

A. Yes, natural flavors are always gluten free
B. Only if the product says gluten free on the label, and you’ve confirmed it with the manufacturer
C. Yes, even if it says natural flavors it’s always less than 20 ppm
D. I’m not sure! 

Answer

Should a sensitive celiac consume a product if the label says it is also processed in a facility that manufactures wheat products?

A. No, cross contamination can happen during the processing of the product
B. Yes, all labels are required by law to say that, but the risk of exposure is not a concern
C. Yes, the cross contamination that happens during manufacturing is always less than 20 ppm
D. I’m not sure!

Answer

A label lists malt flavor as the last ingredient, is it safe?

A. Yes, malt is derived from rice which is gluten-free
B. Yes, since malt is the last ingredient that means it is present in the least amount and therefore will not cause a problem
C. No, malt is derived from barley which contains gluten
D. Yes, anything that is listed as a “flavor” is safe

Answer

Your bottle of vitamins list “Mixed Tocopherols” as one of the ingredients – should you buy them?

A. Not unless the bottle says gluten-free
B. Yes, provided a store employee can verify with paperwork that the product is indeed gluten-free
C. No, not until you can confirm with the manufacturer that the product is gluten-free
D. All of the above

Answer

True or False -  your friend gives you a pack of rice crackers but there is no ingredient label because they came from a bulk order. She says they are gluten-free so they are fine to eat.

Answer

True or False – You are shopping for salad dressing and find one that looks safe, but says “May contain traces of wheat” on the label. Since it doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients it is safe to eat.

Answer

True or False – Alcoholic beverages are not required to have an ingredient label because they are all gluten-free.

Answer

Name five grains that contain gluten and five grains that are gluten-free:

Answer

Remember, if a label doesn’t say gluten-free then it’s better to be safe than sorry!

Saintmarko
I pretty much got everything correct up until the words "tocopherol" and "amaranth". Thanks for enlightening me!
jane1023
Getting the hang of this, got most questions right but just guessed at the mixed tocopherals. Also not that familiar with all the names for gluten. Glad to see quinoa is ok.
goodgal
didn't know any answers.
Jan
Knowledge is Power!!
Lpatrick
I got them all correct which makes me happy cause I am just starting out a gluten free diet
Jan
What a great feeling. Congrats!
sachristian
I did fairly well on the test for a nubie, only was unsure on one.
lorettahelms
I've been GF for about two years, but was surprised to learn that Soy Sauce also contains gluten. I substitute Tamari sauce.
Jan
Soy sauce is one of those "hidden" sources of gluten. Often wheat is the first ingredient listed on label of soy sauce. Tamari is a great substitution for soy sauce. There are also a number of gluten-free soy sauce products that have hit the market, such as Kikkoman and Eden Organic. Always learning something new.